The academic governance of the UBC and its Faculties is vested in two senates: UBC Okanagan Senate and UBC Vancouver Senate. The Council of Senates is responsible for matters pertaining to the broader UBC system.

UBC Vancouver Senate

The Vancouver Senate has responsibilities pertaining to the Vancouver campus. The Vancouver Senate meets monthly from September to May.  

UBC’s High-Level Organization Chart [pdf] displays the structure of UBC’s senior leadership including the Senates, the Vice Provost, Health, and Deans.  

Click here for a complete list of Senate Membership 2017 – 2020.
UBC Vancouver Senate Membership 2014 – 2017: Representatives from the Faculty of Medicine
Dr. Dermot Kelleher Dean, Faculty of Medicine​
Elected by the Faculties:
​Dr. Claudia Krebs ​Professor of Teaching, Department of Cellular & Physiological Sciences​
Dr. Mieka Koehoorn Professor, School of Population and Public Health
Elected by the Joint Faculties:
Dr. Susan Forwell ​Associate Professor, Department of Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy
​Dr. Paul Keown​Professor, Department of Medicine
​Dr. Lynn Sthothers​Professor, Department of Urologic Sciences
Student Representative:
Mr. Qadeem Salehmohamed ​Student (Term: April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017)​

UBC Okanagan Senate

The Okanagan Senate is the academic governing body of the Okanagan campus of the University, and its responsibilities include admissions, course and program curriculum, granting of degrees, academic policy, examinations, and appeals of standing and student discipline. The Okanagan Senate meets every month from September to May of each year, and also has a variety of committee meetings that occur frequently.  

Council of Senates

The University Act also establishes a Council of Senates, which is responsible for matters pertaining to the broader UBC system. In certain circumstances, the Council of Senates may act as though it were a senate.