In Memoriam

​The Faculty of Medicine recognizes members of our community and their contributions to the university.

Dr. C. Brian Warriner

Professor Emeritus Brian Warriner passed away on May 12, 2019. Dr. Warriner served as Head of the Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology and Therapeutics from 2002 to 2012.

Yoona Kim

Yoona Kim passed away suddenly and unexpectedly on March 13, 2019 following a brief illness. Yoona was an alumna of UBC, having graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biochemistry in 2015. During her program, she worked as a co-op student in the Beristain Lab at the BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute in 2014, and as an Undergraduate Student Academic Assistant with the International Student Initiative from 2011 to 2015. 

After graduation, Yoona worked as a Senior Research Technologist and as a Project Coordinator at STEMCELL Technologies Inc. from 2015 to 2019. In early 2019, she joined the UBC Faculty of Medicine as a Project Coordinator.

Dr. Peggy Ross

Professor Emeritus Peggy Ross, a UBC Faculty of Medicine Alumna and Clinical Associate Professor Emerita of Anesthesia, passed away on March 10, 2019. She was instrumental in the creation of a new position of Associate Dean of Medicine (Equity) for UBC in 1993, a first for any North American medical school.

Dr. Martha Donnelly 

Dr. Martha Donnelly passed away on January 10, 2019. Dr. Donnelly joined the UBC Department of Psychiatry and the Department of Family Practice in 1987, and became a member of the Quarter Century Club in 2013. Dr. Donnelly received the Killam Excellence in Teaching Award in 2010 for her significant contributions to education within the faculty. Dr. Donnelly lead the expansion of the geriatric curriculum at UBC as head and director of various divisions from 1987 – 2016. She was a tireless advocate of senior patients and their rights.

Dr. Anne P. Autor

Professor Emerita Anne P. Autor passed away on November 13, 2018.  Dr. Autor earned a B.A. with Honours and an M.Sc. in biochemistry from UBC. She returned to UBC in 1983, as a tenured professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and as a clinical researcher at St. Paul’s Hospital. She opened the first DNA forensic lab in B.C. After retiring from UBC in 2000, she continued teaching and mentoring graduate students, especially helping younger women to enter the profession

Dr. Judith Johnston

Emerita Professor and former Director of UBC's School of Audiology and Speech Sciences, Judith Johnston, passed away on August 26, 2018. Dr. Johnston joined the school in 1989 as Director and continued to offer support and mentoring to students and faculty beyond her retirement in 2008. Her research focused on the development of relationships between language and cognition. Dr. Johnston was recognized with numerous awards, including UBC's Killam Teaching Prize in 2002 and the Canadian 3M Teaching Fellowship in 2003. 

Dr. Colin Thomas White

Dr. Colin Thomas White passed away on July 29, 2018.  Dr. White was a Pediatric Nephrologist at BC Children’s Hospital for the last 15 years. His dedication for caring for children with renal disease was recognized with the Wilma Crockett Award in 2017.

Professor Emerita Donna M. Ford

Professor Emerita Donna M. Ford passed away on July 25, 2018. Dr. Ford was a gifted teacher of anatomy and had a lasting impact on generations of students of medicine and rehabilitation sciences. She was one of the first women in Canada to earn a PhD in her field. In lieu of flowers, her family asks that you light a candle on the evening of August 23, 2018.

Professor Emeritus Andrew Burger Murray

Professor Emeritus Andrew Burger Murray passed away on June 24, 2018. Dr. Murray came to the Department of Paediatrics in 1962, where he started the Division of Allergy at Children’s Hospital and became its first Head. Dr. Murray’s research concerning asthmatic children exposed to second-hand smoke and house dust mites was widely recognized. He retired in 1992, the same year he was included in the first edition of the book listing "The Best Doctors in America.”