Senior Leaders

​An overview of senior leadership in the Faculty of Medicine. 

​The Dean's Executive Team

The Dean’s Executive Team supports the Departments, Schools, Centres and other units in achieving the Faculty’s academic mission. The Team provides strategic leadership to the Faculty and determines direction to inform decisions on cross-cutting issues and opportunities that affect the Faculty’s image, profile and success. The Team fosters and exemplifies the Faculty values, and they also build and nurture external relationships including the UBC Executive, government, clinical and community partners.   

The Dean's Executive Team includes:
  • Dermot Kelleher, Dean
  • Deborah Money, Executive Vice Dean
  • Gurdeep Parhar, Executive Associate Dean, Clinical Partnerships and Professionalism | Organization Chart
  • Robert McMaster, Interim Executive Associate Dean, Research | Organization Chart
  • Roger Wong, Executive Associate Dean, Education | Organization Chart
  • William Honer, Associate Dean, Health Professions
  • Shanda Jordan Gaetz, Executive Director, Faculty Affairs | Organization Chart
  • Michael Shakespeare, Executive Director, Finance & Operations | Organization Chart
  • Katie White, Executive Director, Communications | Organization Chart
  • Leanne Denis, Development & Alumni Engagement
  • Cindi Valensky, Special Advisor to the Dean, Government Relations

 To read the Dean’s Executive T​eam biographies​ visit the Faculty of Medicine website.  

Academic Administration

Academic leaders in the Faculty are responsible for the fostering innovation and excellence in education, research, and care. Find a list of academic leaders including Executive, Regional, Associate and Assistant Deans, Department Heads, School Directors and Research Institutes & Centres Directors.

Dean, Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Dermot Kelleher

Executive Vice Dean

Dr. Deborah Money

Executive Associate Deans

Clinical Partnerships and Professionalism: Dr. Gurdeep Parhar
Education: Dr. Roger Wong
Research: Dr. Robert McMaster

Regional Associate Deans

Interior: Dr. Allan Jones
Northern BC: Dr. Paul Winwood
Vancouver Fraser: Dr. Amil Shah
Vancouver Island: Dr. Bruce Wright

Associate Deans

Continuing Professional Development: Dr. Brenna Lynn
Health Professions: Dr. William Miller 
Fraser: Dr. Dean Jones 
Student Affairs, MD Undergraduate Program: Dr. Janette McMillan
Postgraduate Medical Education: Dr. Ravi Sidhu
Undergraduate Medical Education (UGME) Program: Dr. Cheryl Holmes 

Associate Deans, Research

BC Children's Hospital Research Institute (BCCHRI): Dr. Wyeth Wasserman
Providence Health Care Research Institute (PHCRI): Dr. Paul Man
Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute (VCHRI): Dr. Robert McMaster

Assistant Deans

Admissions, MD Undergraduate Program: Dr. Shahin Shirzad 
Faculty Development: Dr. Kiran Veerapen
Graduate and Postdoctoral Education: Dr. Wendy Robinson 
Island Medical Program: Dr. Laura Farrell
Northern Medical Program: Dr. Sarah Gray 
MD Undergraduate Program, Student Affairs, Vancouver Fraser Medical Program: Dr. Christina Roston & Dr. Carol Ann Courneya
MD Undergraduate Program, Student Affairs, Island Medical Program: Dr. Fraser Black 
MD Undergraduate Program, Student Affairs, Northern Medical Program: Dr. Leigh Hunsinger-Chang 
MD Undergraduate Program, Student Affairs, Southern Medical Program: Dr. Melanie Reed
Postgraduate Medical Education: Dr. Elisabet Joa 
Research, Southern Medical Program: Dr. Chris Fibiger (Interim)
Vancouver Fraser: Clarissa Wallace

Academic Program Directors

Director, Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science Program: Dr. Amanda Bradley

Clinical Faculty Affairs

Director, Clinical Faculty Affairs: Ms. Susan Paul

Department Heads

Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics: Dr. Roanne Preston
Biochemistry & Molecular Biology: Dr. Leonard Foster
Cellular & Physiological Sciences: Dr. Edwin Moore (Interim)
Dermatology & Skin Science: Dr. Jan Dutz
Emergency Medicine: Dr. Jim Christenson
Family Practice: Dr. Louise Nasmith, Dr. Christie Newton & Dr. Morgan Price (Interim Co-Heads)
Medical Genetics: Dr. Marco Marra
Medicine: Drs. Diane Lacaille, Andrea Townson and Teresa Tsang
Obstetrics & Gynaecology: Dr. Geoffrey Cundiff
Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy: Dr. Susan Forwell
Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences: Dr. David Maberley
Orthopaedics: Dr. Bassam Masri
Pathology & Laboratory Medicine: Dr. Michael Allard
Pediatrics: Dr. Allison Eddy
Physical Therapy: Dr. Susan Murphy
Psychiatry: Dr. William Honer
Radiology: Dr. Bruce Forster
Surgery: Dr. Gary Redekop
Urologic Sciences: Dr. Martin Gleave

School Directors

Audiology & Speech Sciences: Dr. Jeff Small
Biomedical Engineering: Dr. Peter Zandstra
Population & Public Health: Dr. Carolyn Gotay & Dr. Chris Lovato (Interim Co-Directors) 

Centre & Institute Directors

BC Children's Hospital Research InstituteDr. Wyeth Wasserman
Biomedical Research Centre: Dr. Fabio Rossi
Centre for Blood Research: Dr. Ed Conway
Centre for Excellence in Indigenous Health: Dr. Nadine Caron & Dr. Martin Schechter
Centre for Health Education Scholarship: Dr. Ian Scott
Centre for Health Evaluation & Outcome Sciences: Dr. Aslam Anis
Centre for Health Services and Policy Research: Dr. Sabrina Wong (Interim)
Centre for Hip Health & Mobility: Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose, Dr. Pierre Guy & Dr. David Wilson
Centre for Molecular Medicine and Therapeutics: Dr. Blair Leavitt 
Djavad Mowafaghian Centre for Brain Health/Brain Research Centre: Dr. Jon Stoessl & Dr. Brian MacVicar
Human Early Learning Partnership: Dr. Kimberly Schonert-Reichl 
ICORD: Dr. Wolfram Tetzlaff
Institute of Mental Health: Dr. Lakshmi Yatham
James Hogg Research CentreDr. Keith Walley
Life Sciences Institute: Dr. Michael Gold, Dr. Leonard Foster & Dr. Edwin Moore (Interim)
UBC Centre for Disease Control: Dr. Mark Tyndall 
Vancouver Prostate Centre: Dr. Martin Gleave
W. Maurice Young Centre for Applied Ethics: Dr. David Silver ​​​​​