Our Organization

Learn more about the Faculty of Medicine's programs, departments, schools, centres and institutes.​

​​An Overview of the Faculty

The University of British Columbia is home to the only Faculty of Medicine in British Columbia. We provide innovative educational and research programs in the areas of health and life s​ciences through an integrated and province-wide delivery model. Founded in 1950 with a graduating class of 60 students, we now have more than 4,500 students and learners at the undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate levels and provide teaching to several thousand additional students from other disciplines at UBC.  

Our Distributed Learning Model 

The Faculty of Medicine is distributed across the province, including:  

  • 4 University Academic Campuses
    • The University of British Columbia – Vancouver Campus
    • The University of British Columbia – Okanagan Campus
    • University of Northern British Columbia
    • University of Victoria
  • 11 Clinical Academic Campuses
  • 17 Affiliated Regional Centres
  • 65+ Community Education Facilities/ Rural and Distributed Sites

Our Programs/Degrees Offered

Our Organizational Structure

The Faculty of Medicine is organized into 19 departments, three schools, 23 research institutes and centres, and Administrative Service Units.  

Research Institutes
Research Centres

*UBC Senate-approved