Committees & Teams

Learn more about the Faculty of Medicine Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee (JOHSC) and Local Safety Teams (LST).

The Faculty of Medicine Health & Safety Program is governed by multiple Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committees (JOHSCs):

The purpose of the joint committees are to:

  • Recommend policies and procedures to the Dean that are designed to protect and improve health, safety, and personal security of all Faculty of Medicine faculty, staff and students, and ensure compliance with applicable WorkSafeBC regulations.
  • Review safety concerns regarding corrective measures to address unsafe working conditions and confirm that corrective measures are effectively implemented.
  • Collaborate with Faculty of Medicine Local Safety Teams (see contact info below) to address local health and safety issues that have not been resolved at the local level.
  • Provide a forum for faculty, staff and student representatives to collaborate on identifying and resolving health and safety issues in the workplace.

For further information on the Faculty of Medicine JOHSCs, including contact lists of members and recent minutes, click here.

Faculty of Medicine Local Safety Teams

Local Safety Teams support the Faculty of Medicine health and safety program by providing site specific safety information. The Faculty of Medicine has a variety of work groups and workplaces within its portfolio, with a diverse group of functions and unique hazard potential. These teams meet regularly and collaborate with the Faculty of Medicine JOHSC.

The list of current Local Safety Teams and partner institution JOHSCs providing local safety information are:

List of current partner institution JOHSCs providing local safety information: